hemingway app

So, for writers, you know about AutoCrit and ProWritingAid but did you also learn about https://hemingwayapp.com/?

 Hemingway, the app, was created by the brothers Adam and Ben Long, I think it said in 2013. It analyzes text and, as it promises, “makes your writing bold and clear.” If you look at the image below, they highlight your texts by sentence difficulty or other choices of words they might have you rework.

According to the New Yorker, Hemingway’s writing on this app rates merely “O.K.” (Grade 15). 

” The program highlights overly complicated words and suggests alternatives (my “all of it” could have simply been “all”). It also calls out adverbs (“newly,” “famously, “”seemingly”), difficult-to-read sentences (the first being “very” hard to read, while the second was just hard), and instances of the passive voice.”

It was a really fun way of looking at my work, but I’m not really concerned too much about following this style of writing. I think editors care more about this than writers themselves and there’s no real right or wrong. I was taught by my English teacher to write this way, eliminating most weak adverbs, but really, I don’t think readers care too much?

What do you all think?

Leave a comment